What’s The Worst That Could Happen?

A recent conversation with my friend forced me to think about what am I doing with my life? Why do I crib so often? Why am I not working towards my personal development? I had a lot of reasons to her ‘why not’ questions but she concluded that I was talking complete and utter bull.

I’ve always been scared to try something new or make new friends because I’d prefer being at home and do other stuff (read sleeping). But, thanks to that conversation, I came to realize that if I don’t get a wee bit adventurous right now, I’m doomed.

This made me think about why are we really scared? It’s not about someone being shy or introvert, it’s just plain fear, nothing else. Let me explain it like this – we know we want to jump in the pool, but don’t because the water is cold. On the other hand, we also know that once you’re in the pool, it’s going to be fine. You’re just scared about that one second of cold. State change, that’s what you’re scared of, aren’t you?

Is it healthy though? Nope!

It’s time to get rid of the fear that has settled so deep in our minds and has made a home at some corner because one day it will ruin you. Whenever you even think of doing something new and out of your comfort zone, there are 10 voices inside your head, asking you to NOT do it. But, there are 10 other voices as well, begging you to do it. Isn’t it? Now the question that arises is, which voice do you listen to?

Listen to the ‘do it’ one… always!

best-success-quotes_12047-1-276x300

This raw fear to do anything outside of our comfort zone has made us so cozy in our teeny-tiny bubble that we don’t ever want to come out of it. Getting out of that bubble is a must when you want to achieve something in life. If you’re sick of your job but love the comfort and security it provides, look for other opportunities and resign. Or you like someone but are scared to the core to ask them out, block the pessimist inside of you and go ahead. Want to skydive but scared of the very idea of flying SO high in the air? Push that fear to the back of your mind and just do it!

You might feel your palms sweating, you might get butterflies in your stomach, heck, you might even feel dizzy – but it’s all worth it.

I guess we just don’t want to face rejection. I know it sucks big time but you have to start somewhere, right? Count these rejections as stepping-stones to your objective, whatever it may be. I know it’s easier said than done but I did try and I’m glad that I did. I might not be there yet but that one experience motivated me so much and it filled my heart with determination and positivity, lots of it.

Now, I know I’m no motivational guru, but doesn’t that make me all the more relatable? I’m just like you – I’m scared, I hate the very idea of rejection and I dislike being social because I’m awkward like that.

I think it’s time for you to think what you want to do in life, where you want to be and stop procrastinating because believe you me, it won’t get you anywhere, at all!

Take that chance, what’s the worst that could happen?

Image Source: Pexels/ musingsofalazywriter

© 2017 Sonali Pawar. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

