What An 80 Second Plank Can Do!

After a successful week of workout, I woke up with no motivation on Monday. My body hurt, I wanted to sleep a bit more till it was time to get up and get ready for work. But, after snoozing the alarm three times, I thought it’s better to get up and exercise. I did a good mix of jogging and brisk walk for about 20 minutes and then it was time to do some strength exercises.
I use this amazing app – 7 Minute Workout to monitor the kind of exercises I do and for how long. Currently, I’m doing the 30-day full workout body challenge. So, after a usual run of jumping jacks and lunges and a few more exercises, I was supposed to do an 80 sec full arm plank. Here I was thinking, “Oh, I did 30 sec half plank yesterday, today it will be 40 sec.” But nooo…

I wish I had mentally prepared myself for what was about to come and what I was about to feel. 30 seconds into the plank, I started feeling restless, I wanted to stop and lie down on the mat. But my brain forced me to keep still in that position. My legs were shaking, my hands were hurting, my abdomen felt like it was on fire, I was breathing heavily, and I was about to cry. Yes, a plank almost made me cry! But as I’ve mentioned it before, I’m  determined this time, so to keep going, I took deep breaths and stopped looking at the time. Guess what? It worked! The bell rang and I scattered on my mat, breathing heavily.

I was panting like a dog and at that moment I felt happy because I took up a challenge and completed it as well (even though I wasn’t able to get up for another one minute because of how my legs were shaking.)
But yeah, that 80 sec plank did make me come close to tears and from here I can only hope, it gets better.

If you’re someone who’s going through something similar, I’d suggest it’s best to let it pass and just think about how good you’re going to feel later on. You just need a little bit of will to do something. Half the battle is won if you have the will to get up from the bed and think about how this pain and sweat is worth it!

womanonamission
Source: Giphy

You can read the last post here.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

