Five Must-Read Books from My Library

A few years ago when I was out of books to read, I went to the universal problem solver – Google and typed, “10 must read books before you die.” That search made me borrow Emma by Jane Austen and you know what happened? A very unfortunate bookmark is suffocating between the pages seven and eight since last three years!

Everyone has different tastes and I am the last person on this Earth to read a classic but that doesn’t mean I don’t appreciate them. I do, and maybe when I have enough courage and time, I might pick up that book once again.

Here are five favourite books from my library which I think everyone must read:

1. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

the-kite-runner

I wasn’t even halfway through when I fell in love with this utter piece of art. Khaled Hosseini flawlessly described the tribulations that people of Afghanistan had to go through during Taliban’s reign. His narrative of the companionship between the two protagonists brought me to tears.

2. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D Salinger

catcher

If J.D Salinger was still alive, I would have moved heaven and earth to meet this gem of a writer. This book should be in every teenager’s reading list, book lover or not. This novel was published in the 1950s and was criticized for its bold theme. It is one of a kind and even after existing for about 50 years, it’s still relatable and I reckon it always will be relevant to each and every generation.

3. Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond

ggs

Well, I have hardly finished the first chapter of this Pulitzer Prize winner but by the time I was done with the thirty-three-page long prologue, I was a genius (or so I’d like to think). This book talks about why society is the way it is and so far the experience of reading a non-fiction novel for the first time has been excellent.

4. The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

the alchemist

The Alchemist is clichéd in more ways than one but it simplifies the beauty of the world; it’s almost in your face kind of a book. I believe this is his best work thus far.

5. The Zoya Factor by Anuja Chauhan

the zoya factor

I absolutely adore this woman and her novels as she makes her reader fall in love with her characters and that’s what she did with this one. You will fall irrevocably for the male protagonist, feel sorry for Zoya and mentally slap her for being so naïve and have a wee bit of a crush on her brother. Chauhan will leave you sniggering as she has this amazing comical side to her writing. It’s a light, side-splitting book, the kind which will give you goosebumps for all the right reasons.

[Image Source: http://www.goodreads.com]

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

