On the Verge of Extinction?

I have been reading novels since forever; it’s in my blood. Even if I had tried my best not to read, it would have been impossible as my genes would have forced me to open a book and start reading it. The aromas of both old and new books give me an adrenaline rush, libraries help me retain my sanity, and the never-ending shelves of books bring me immense pleasure and my eyes light up like Fourth of July. It’s always a great feeling to open a package filled with books I have ordered online.

I despise reading books online. There, I said it. I just cannot hold a gadget in my hands and read an entire book on it. Reading a paperback or a hardcover is entirely different than reading on kindle. Yes, kindle has tried it’s best to give its readers the similar experience as that of reading paperbacks as one can turn the pages, and kindle has been kind enough to add sound effects to the same. But, it’s not really analogous to printed books simple because you just do not get the impression when you read it on an e-reader.

Technology is taking over print and maybe in near future books won’t exist and that’s what scares me the most. Once an acquaintance asked me, “How would you feel if books would not exist anymore?” I had tears in my eyes upon hearing this question. I cannot (and would not like to) imagine a world without printed books. I feel sad that the generations which will start reading on e-readers will miss out a lot.

It’s good that progress is being made and people are switching to faster modes of gaining knowledge but there are quite a few drawbacks too when it comes on reading on a device. Most of the readers read while travelling and those who do it on devices like kindle have the possibility of the battery running out. One may not always remember to charge their devices but in printed books, there is no such issue and never will be. Secondly, these reading devices are not affordable by everyone and this is quite a huge issue when it comes to reading on e-readers.

There is some other-worldly joy in making your own bookmarks, having an entire shelf dedicated to the books you proudly own and lending it to a friend who actually wants to read it. I reckon, one won’t obtain this joy on various e-readers.

There are many readers who love reading paperbacks and do not want the existence of books to vanish. Maybe there is nothing we can do to save books, maybe we can. But the speed by which technology and the internet is taking over most of the things present in the world, books could soon be extinct. And for me, that would be the end of the world.

(Image from: chancery12.wordpress.com

Image from: darwinslibrary.com)

One thought on “On the Verge of Extinction?

Add yours

  1. Ah, I agree. I mean, I don’t HATE ereaders (I have an iPad myself, and it’s quite handy for free domain books), but I will forever love print books more. ❤️😘🙋🏼

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

