The Time My Dates with Mumbai Begin…

The beautiful Marin Drive
The beautiful Marine Drive

When you shift from one metropolitan city to another, it’s not much of a difference. But at the same time you can see a colossal difference between the two metropolitans. I am a city girl and moving to Mumbai (or Bombay, as I prefer to call it) from Delhi didn’t require much adjustment and compromises because you already know how a city works and you adapt to its atmosphere quite deftly.

The aspect where you actually have to adjust is the place you’re going to live in. Delhi is my home; I know (almost) each and every nook and corner of the city. The hubs, pubs, the must go to places and the must avoid places, all of it is on my fingertips and embedded deep inside my head. But here in Bombay, I am exploring places, traveling in the local trains (I really miss Delhi metro!!), making friends and not to forget, cooking and washing clothes on my own. It’s so funny that one day you have your mother cook your food, giving you fruits and washing your clothes (in the washing machine, Duh!) and the next day, you’re doing all of that stuff by your own.

Each and every city has a USP of its own. You won’t find beaches in Delhi, will you? But on the other hand, you won’t find Connaught Place, Sarojini Market and mind blowing food in Mumbai.

I simply adore beaches; I love the vast expanse of the sea and the cool breeze on the beaches. For the first few days when I arrived in Mumbai, I had the opportunity to visit places and enjoy the major chunk of the city. I’ll post more as I visit the places that Mumbai has to offer but for firsts, here are a few photos of Gateway of India and the infamous Taj Hotel.

Gateway of India
Gateway of India
The Taj
The Taj

This city is going to be my home for the next few months and from here, the adventures start (which may include breakdowns, stress, traveling, fun and some stuff I’d rather not mention…)

~~**~~**~~

(If this post is not up to the mark, blame the lack of sleep. Next ones are going to be better, I promise!)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

