Red Velvet Cake

Almost every New Year’s eve, my family and I have a nice mini party of our own. We have non-stop food, beverages and sweet dishes. So today, i.e. December 31, 2014, I decided to bake a Red Velvet Cake. Mind you, it was my first time baking this cake and I was scared as hell because I have heard of the disasters my friends have had with the recipe before.

Below, is the recipe I used from http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/southern-red-velvet-cake-recipe.html

WP_20141231_009

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon fine salt
1 teaspoon cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups oil
1 cup buttermilk, at room temperature
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 tablespoons red food coloring

1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Method

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (180 C).
In a large bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. In another large bowl, whisk together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just combined and a smooth batter is formed.

Pour the batter into the pan. Bake the cake for 25 minutes at 180 degree Celsius.

Remove the cake from the oven and run a knife around the edges to loosen them from the sides of the pan.

Toppings

I did not use the traditional cake cheese frosting for the cake, as baking a red velvet cake was an adventure in itself. So, I decided to use (my favorite) whipping cream.

Note: My cake turned out to be half red (from the top) and half brown (from the bottom). If anybody knows why it turned out to be like this and can tell me how to rectify it, it will be very helpful for me.

Lastly, A Very Happy New Year to all of you and I hope 2015 turns out to be amazing for you. Thank you for sticking with me this year 🙂

Leave a Reply

