The Story of an Indian Marriage: 2 States

2_States_poster

Cast: Arjun Kapoor
Alia Bhatt
Amrita Singh
Revathy
Ronit Roy
Shiv Kumar Subramaniam

Genre: Romedy

Director: Abhishek Varman
Love marriages around the world are simple:
Boy loves girl. Girl loves boy.
They get married.
In India, there are a few more steps:
Boy loves Girl. Girl loves Boy.
Girl’s family has to love boy. Boy’s family has to love girl.
Girl’s Family has to love Boy’s Family. Boy’s family has to love girl’s family.
Girl and Boy still love each other. They get married.
2 States is based on the novel by the same name by Chetan Bhagat. It is inspired by the author’s own life. The story is about Krish, a punjabi boy from Delhi and Ananya, a Tamilian from Chennai. These two meet at IIM-A and eventually fall in love. But in India, just love is not enough. Their families must love each other too. This story revolves around how Krish and Ananya convince their parents to get married.

 

I had already read the book years back and when the movie released, I wasn’t that interested to watch it; I am not a fan of Bollywood movies anyway! But when I read some reviews and saw the trailer, the “Indian” inside me felt like watching the movie. I thought, “You do not have a right to declare that a movie is good or bad if you haven’t even watched it.” So, I decided to go ahead with my Indian Instincts.

 

The movie starts from the scene where Krish (Arjun Kapoor) is seen talking to a psychiatrist about his problems and life events. That’s where the story begins; about how he met Ananya, his non-existent relationship with his father and all that stuff.

 

Alia Bhatt is seen in a rather ‘Indian’ avatar compared to her ‘glamorous’ role in SOTY. I actually found Alia Bhatt sensible in the movie. She looked really pretty with the kurtis, sarees and suits she wore. Arjun kapoor himself didn’t look half bad himself. The sets; be it at IIM or at Minti’s wedding, were good.

 

When we watch a movie which is based on a book, we tend to compare it from the same. We get a basis to decide whether it was a good or a bad movie. But apart from that, the movie is something in itself. It consists of actors, songs, sets and what not. With these things some sort of expectations grow inside us. We cannot ‘see’ in a book that which character had what expression; but in the movie it’s all in front of you! We not only judge after comparing it from the book, but also judge it from the acting.

 

In the terms of acting, I won’t say it was superb, but it was really good. There were some scenes where I wanted Arjun Kapoor to act a little more, but maybe that’s what the script demanded. On the other hand, Alia Bhatt gave quite a good performance. This was my first time watching these actors in any movie, so I can’t really compare the acting from their past works.
Now, honestly, I find songs in the middle of a movie pointless and I am really not a fan of hindi music too, so let’s not even go there!

 

Before I went to watch 2 States, I had read quite a few reviews. I tend to do that before I go to watch a Bollywood movie. So, I concluded that this movie has received critical reception, but a few reviews were quite hard on the movie. I didn’t find 2 States that bad to call it a ‘shit-fest’ and neither that good to call it ‘superbly awesome’.

 

I won’t say that it’s a must watch, and I won’t even say that don’t go at all. If you want to, go ahead with it and I am sure that majority of you will like it. And If you don’t want to go, you can always watch it on television.

 

[Image Source: www.filmapia.com]

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

