The Book I’ll Cherish Forever : The Perks of Being a Wallflower

My winter break is over and while the rest of my classmates were lazying around and doing complete bullshit, I was either baking, watching movies or reading a novel. After my exams ended, I was determined to spend my holidays productively. I took out my mom’s recipe books and baked a lot of stuff, believe me, when I say ‘a lot’, it does mean the same. But, other than baking stuff and watching movies I also read a novel. I ordered this book before my exams started in hopes of reading after they were over. And I did.

 

WP_20140112_004

One fine afternoon, after doing my chores, I sat in my balcony with a hot cup of coffee in my right hand and The Perks of Being a Wallflower in the other. I was very excited to read this book as I had heard a lot about it and the movie too. Naturally, before I started reading the book, I visually examined the cover; its front-page, last page, acknowledgment, about the author and stuff.

 

This book is about a 13 year old teenager Charlie, who is writing letters to a ‘friend’, we don’t know who the friend is. He talks about every thing he comes across during his life day by day and writes it to the unknown friend. Even though he is just a teenager, the way he expresses his feelings about the suicide of his childhood friends is marvelous. The book deals with Charlie’s experience as a freshman in high school. He is friendless, shy and awkward, not to mention scared about entering this new stage of being a teenager.
But soon, he meets a guy Patrick at the school’s football match who is in his wood shop class too. Eventually he is introduced to Patrick’s step sister and Charlie fall for her immediately. The book talks in detail about his relationship with his parents, siblings, Patrick and Sam and his English teacher, Ben.
Honestly, this was the best thing I did during my 20 day long winter break. Soon after I finished reading, I googled about the movie. The very day I downloaded the movie and watched it the next day.

 

What I liked the best about the movie was that Stephen Chbosky (author of the book) was the one who who directed the movie and wrote the screenplay. Usually it is seen that the movie does not do justice to the novel but in this case, it wasn’t so. The movie did complete justice to the book. One advice, it is always better to read the book first and then watch the movie. I would say that I fell in love with all the three characters. Charlie was played by Logan Lerman, Patrick by Ezra Miller and Sam by Emma Watson.

 

These three characters were exactly what I imagined them and I fell in love with Ezra Miller. Emma Watson has done a very good job of playing Sam and this character definitely helped her shedding the image of Hermoine Granger and Logan Lerman is well ‘Logan Lerman’, he was amazing.

 

I usually never re-read any novel but I would love to read this one again and again. My review does not do justice to the book, so it’s better that if you haven’t read it, then do it as soon as possible. Read it and enjoy the perks of reading a beautiful novel.

A scene from 'The Perks of Being a Wallflower'
A scene from ‘The Perks of Being a Wallflower’

[Image Source: theodysseyonline.com]

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

