What You are Missing…!

focus_on_the_family

 

 

During teen years we are so involved in our ‘busy’ lives that we forget to spend time with our parents. This is the stage where we are involved in our school, assignments, projects, obsessions, infatuations, friends and what not. Everybody passes through Teenager hood and this is the phase where we are most caught up in our friends. We try to copy what our friends too, be it the dressing style, music, eating habits and lot more. It is that period when we are ‘Adults’ in making.

But what we forget is that as much as spending time with our friends is important, we should not forget the most important people in our lives i.e. Our parents. We go out for parties, outings, shopping, lunch or dinner with our friends but do we even think once of doing these things with our folks? Most of the teenage population says that they are embarrassed when they go out with their parents in the public. But haven’t you ever thought about it this way, that maybe they are trying to fit in ‘your’ world? I am not old-fashioned but a few days ago I realized that spending time with our parents in necessary too.

After a very long time, me and my sister, (both of us are in our teens. Me being 19 and her being 14. For one, adulthood is just on the doorstep and for another, teenage hood has just started.) went out to have lunch with our parents. It had been quite a long time since we went to hang out together. At first I was kind of embarrassed by my father’s actions but then I realized that he acts the same at home, then why didn’t I feel like that before.

Sitting in a restaurant, whose most of the seats were either occupied by lovey-dovey couples or friends, we were the only family having lunch there. I’ll be honest here, I did feel a bit weird sitting like that with my family where my parents were having a little argument of theirs, me and my sister discussing some band she loves and I despise. Out of the blue, it clicked me that why don;t we spend more time with our parents? And this thing has been revolving my mind since days…

The area where we went to have lunch was the one where my parents used to spend a lot of time as kids and when they were dating. I realized that they had a lot of stories to share of both their childhood and when they were young adults, they just needed to be heard. You don’t realize that while spending time with your parents can make some amazing memories too. Maybe you’ll end up sharing your own good and bad experiences with them. I have noticed this myself; your friends will leave you one day for some lame reason or the another but your family is the only one who will be by your side no matter what happens.

This post was not only for teenagers but also for adults whose parents are yearning for a conversation with their children. If you are in your early teens- take out some time and talk about your latest crush, latest heartbreak or make-up with your folks. If you are just reaching your adulthood and away from home- make sure to spend time with your parents when you are home. If you are married with kids- Go for a brunch to your parent’s house, they would not only love spending time with you but also your kids.

The whole point of this write-up was to make you realize that your parents need some quality time to spend with their kids. Taking out at least half an hour won’t hurt, moreover both the sides will feel happy. Just try it once…

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

