The Road Trip

On Sunday my family decided to go for a road trip to relax ourselves from our hectic schedules. It’s been years since we went to one. Due to our busy schedules we have not been able to go anywhere even if it’s for a day. The last time we went for an outing was five years back and boy, that’s such a long time ago! So, finally my parents decided to go on a road trip towards Murthal, Haryana.

On the Freeway
On the Freeway

At seven in the morning we hit the road towards the National Highway. Early mornings on the freeways are amazing. No matter what the weather is, you can feel the cool wind gently hitting your face. My advice is to ditch the Air conditioners and roll down your car windows and enjoy the weather. As Murthal is around 45-50 km away from my home, we reached there by 8:30 am. There is a famous dhaba where we had our breakfast. (A dhaba is a roadside restaurant usually on the freeways.) The moment I entered the dhaba, a wave of nostalgia hit me as I was suddenly reminded of my trip to Chandigarh back in ’08. After filling our stomachs with some delicious food, we were back on the road.

The Dhaba
The Dhaba

We were already an hour and a half away from home but my father decided to take us to a Lake in Karnal. This lake is known as ‘Karna Lake’ and is a famous lake of that city. Around 10 am we reached the lake and I was too happy to be able to stretch my legs.  I was very thankful to my mind as it remembered to remind me to take my camera. As, I have recently developed a hobby of clicking photographs, I was on a clicking spree, stopping after every point to get the same view from different angles.

A View of the Lake
A View of the Lake

Despite the sun being above us, the water made the atmosphere cool and ‘tolerable’. After such a long time, I saw white ducks and they were too happy to pose for this girl with a camera! I wanted to go for a boat ride but we didn’t have much time to spend it on a half an hour boating.

White Ducks
White Ducks

All in all, it was an amazing trip and I enjoyed spending time after such a long gap with my family. I really hope that we go for more outings like this.

Leave a Reply

